Achieving Happiness

August 7, 2009

Alan Rickman on my mind

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ina Alleco @ 9:15 am

red_umbrella-w blackMovies I need to get copies of:

1. Truly, Madly, Deeply

2. The English Patient

3. Pretty in Pink

4. The Breakfast Club

5. Dolphy’s films when he was younger

6. Cold Mountain

7. Quiz Show

—-

Gad, I didnt even know that Anthony Minghella died last year. Crap, crap, crap. The man was a genius; he was a brilliant scriptwriter, and I loved his films.  For the longest time I’ve been to Google “Truly, Madly Deeply” as it is one of my favorite films (I loved the story, I love Alan Rickman), but I didn’t know that Mr. Minghella wrote the script. I only found out today (I love Google).

There is a lot to be said about watching films, the experience of watching a well-written story come to life visually. I’m no movie critic, and it’s certainly not like I have a list of must-see films that have been deemed classics by the more knowledgeable film buffs. But I like movies, and the ones that I’ve seen and loved I tend to watch again, over and over. It’s comforting. It helps me have happy dreams. I like to memorize lines that speak to me, and they’re like poetry sometimes.

There are more important things to write about, but my mind is wandering and I don’t feel like being socially responsible today. What I feel like is running out the office door and walking around the UP academic oval, enjoying the wind and rain. I have  a new umbrella, you see – and it’s so beautiful I want to show it off. I also like this so-called ‘depressing’ weather; it’s the weather I most thrive in.  Cold/chilly, slightly windy, raining gently. I feel both so alive and so lazy; I want to curl up on the sofa and watch old favorites; I want to run and run and run against the wind. Sometimes I feel like I was 21 again, and now is one of those times. I’ve missed being 21 — it was a very interesting time for me because it was then when I felt feelings so keenly and experienced everything like everything was happening to me and to me alone. It was thrilling and exhausting; sad and happy.

Did I already write that I love Alan Rickman? I love Alan Rickman. I’ve loved him since I saw him in “Truly, Madly, Deeply” oh, years and years ago. I think it was when I was 21 years old. Did I write that it was an interesting time for me? That I felt everything strongly and deeply and it was like I was a caterpillar coming out of the cocoon, only it was nighttime, and everything was silent but  nocturnal sounds were everywhere so there was both profound silence and lively noise muted and was it any wonder that the former caterpillar was both exhilarated and scared but left the cocoon anyways because she had wings?

So Alan Rickman. There’s this scene in “Truly, Madly, Deeply”‘ where he (as Jamie) answers Nina (played by the remarkable Juliet Stevenson) after she asks him if he remembers their first night together and as he speaks his voice has the full confidence of one who loves truly but also with the sadness of one who knows that the strength of letting go od the beloved is one that one who loves must possess.

He also recited a poem by Pablo Neruda in Spanish.

I miss hearing poems read. I miss walking barefoot on the grass.I want to rush home and play with my daughter and tell her about the rain and why her mother loves it. I want to eat a roastbeef sandwich from Oliver’s. I need to be around my friends. I need to take off these flats and change into running shoes and run and run until the stale office air in my lungs is expelled and I can breathe freely again. I want to take my daughter out for frozen yoghurt (she’s allergic  to cow’s milk). I can’t help but be wistful and wish that I could beg off pending responsibilities and instead go with my Miko to see her father and the three of us could play in the snow that’s sure to fall by November. I want Miko to experience autumn and see the leaves turn brown, then red and watch them fall slowly, gently to the ground.

I wish there’d be an Alan Rickman film festival. And I should get another umbrella just like the one I bought yesterday, only this time in fire engine red and not black. I must get all my ducks in line and be more decisive. Maybe I should get cake because always makes me feel better. Not that I feel bad right now, but I do want cake and it never hurts to feel better than you already feel even if you’re feeling good.

I wonder if Alan Rickman has an umbrella and if he likes it?

unbranded-fulton-huntsman-1-umbrella-black

1 Comment »

  1. Sorry if it seems like you got a comment after more than a year posting this. I was searching “Alan Rickman” in Google and tried if there were pages available from the Philippines. Everytime I stumble on blogs from Filipinas who also love Alan Rickman, I get that fuzzy feeling inside me, something like an assurance, that maybe I’m not alone… that I’m not the only Filipina who loves that dude.. that even if my friends only know him as that snape guy there’s still some kababayan who knows that he’s not just the greasy-haired overgrown bat but a great actor.

    Sorry if I ranted that much. Kinda frustrated I don’t have friends who like him as much as I do. It’s hard to be seventeen and not have even a friend who could relate to you…

    I saw Truly, Madly, Deeply last Wednesday, Nov. 3. I cried at the last part and I was throwing my hankie on the monitor screen because of Nina. I was forever scarred that he was crying at the end.

    Oh, I could also relate on how it feels like wanting to walk around the Acad Oval when it’s drizzling. I’ve done that a lot of times already because I often forget my umbrella when going to class, especially when I’m running late and my first subject on the other side of the oval.

    Anjelica. xD

    Comment by anjelica — November 6, 2010 @ 4:21 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

